Monday, May 17, 2010

Bumgenius- week one

Well,

I want to update on how my first week of cloth diapering is going.
I must say- it's much easier than I had originally imagined...
however I have encountered a few,er, shall we call them surprises??

1. I think if you are going to cloth diaper, BUMgenius 3.0 is the way to go! (not that I would know.. I have zero experience with any others..) however I don't plan on needing to try any others. These are JUSTTHISMUCH like regular diapers. I'm thinking as close as you can get. The one I got is a one-size-fits-all (OS) and it's a "pocket" diaper. (versus an all-in-one) MEANING... it should fit your baby from 7-37 lbs., and 2. you put the "diaper" part into a pocket sewn into the diaper.. (see pic below) it doesn't just come ready to go. (aka: all-in-one)
but we'll get to that.


who knew I'd need to learn an entire new language to figure out this cloth-diapering thing???

My one and only problem so far is that my baby is getting rashes (extremely mild). Maybe I'm not changing him enough.. he never feels wet to me. (it's very hard to tell if he's wet or not...) disposables get a nice mushy-ness to them. I can't even tell the diaper is wet until it's OFF OF him, and it has "cooled down" from the body temp so I can tell it's cold!
-that's a good thing because it does a great job of pulling moisture away from the skin.
-it's a bad thing because I'm thinking I don't change him enough?
-it's an in-between thing because I might figure this out over time?

Another interesting fact for those of you who have never done this before..
organic materials used in cloth diapers need to be washed 6-10 times before you can use them as a diaper. (aka: cotton, bamboo, hemp, etc.) Good thing the Bumgenius comes with micro-fiber mix materials on the inserts that only need to be prewashed once. :)
(the snaps are to adjust it as your baby grows. But the good news is you also get a newborn sized-one if you purchase the all-inclusive diaper packs..) and that means it won't be hugely bulky on your itty-bitty baby.

**starting to sound like a bumgenius ad. But I'm just keeping it real - they sold me. what can I say? **

Next, you need a place to store the dirty diapers. I guess the regular old diaper pail doesn't work, because they need to VENT, and NOT SMELL at the same time. tricky eh? You buy something called a wet-bag, which is waterproof for anyone who is using the type of cloth diaper that needs to soak after use. (this one does not recommend soaking). I just purchased this in black (although I adored lots of the other colors, but it's visible from my living room so simple is best..) it's a wet/dry bag. and I throw my dirty diapers in it.

Now washing-
you need to wash them every-other-day. (or it voids the warranty. 1 year on these..) but also- you don't want to have urine-soaked-diapers in your home longer than that anyway right? This was the part I was the most worried about.. well this and POOP. But I'll get to that too.

You need to buy a special (and somewhat expensive!) brand of detergent. There are lots of options. I got this.




I haven't used it yet. (I borrowed rock'n green from a friend. It's working fine as far as I can tell.)

but you only use a few tablespoons at a time. From what I've read- you need to actually measure and use the amount recommended. umm.. I never do this yet. But I plan to. :)

I just run my diapers on prewash-cold cycle. then a regular washing cycle (Hot) that includes the spin and rinse.. and then I dial it back one more time and rinse it again.
It takes about 30 minutes.

These diapers ALL, including the covers, can go in the dryer!! and they dry THISFAST. (the covers do..) so I do two medium heat loads. After the first, I get out the covers and then send the inserts through. (remember what inserts are? covers are the diaper itself... with the velcro that you stick the inserts into. just a quick reminder).

But I also have a drying rack for some outside drying on sunny days. (it is supposed to help with sanitizing, stains and smells. none of which i have needed to do at all whatsoever yet so I'll have to keep you posted on that..)

When that's done, I bring the laundry in and STUFF THEM ALL. (takes a few minutes. like 30 for 20 diapers. I'm not very good at it yet... or maybe it will always take this long..



That way I have a bunch of ready-t0-go diapers. I'd say I spend an extra hour/week with these diapers so far. Honestly I run about a load of laundry a day anyway.. so that part is no big deal. here is an example of the end result. (mine are all stacked on top of eachother..)




Now the poop part. He's only gone #2 3 times since I've been using these. And the flannel-type fabric inside that takes the brunt of the poo. (part of the COVER or diaper itself..) makes it easy to just turn the diaper over and drop it in the toilet.
I have a spray for smell minimizing too but so far I haven't noticed any smells.
If your baby is breast-fed, that poop you do nothing with. Just wash it. Who knew that our washers and dryers do such a good job sanitizing now adays? :)

and I do nothing special to wash them... I stick the velcro to the tabs.. but I don't even pull out the STUFFING or the insert. it comes out on it's own. so I just throw them in the wash all-together and they come out all-apart.

There. whew.
If anyone has any questions.. let me know. I'll update as I go but I think I'm sticking with these.
The price is good, the colors are FUN! (other types of diapers have more color options. But I knew I needed velcro. My baby hates being changed...) But with all the different things I purchased to get started.. I honestly spent almost 500.00 bucks. (OUCH!)
so keep that in mind!




Plus I bought the bumgenius 20 pack (boys) (and the more you buy the better the overall deal..)
the end. wish me continued luck. :)

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

back on the bandwagon

I know it's been forever.
I kind of ran out of things to talk about.

Or at least I thought I did.

It turns out I was wrong.

I don't need to do a confessional anymore because I think it's repetitive in a few ways. And I still need to just write today and hope that maybe some of you can relate or maybe you have your own problems.

So here's mine.

This is huge people.

I hit a huge emotional wall this week. A HUGE ONE. The fluff and fuzz of motherhood wore off, and the thought of having more kids in the future knocked me over a little. And I had to come to a traumatizing conclusion.

I don't want more kids. (nope. that's not it.)
I married the wrong man. (ha! imagine. If I make it though my married life without HIM ever thinking that it will be an accomplishment.. love you babe.)
I need to keep my house clean.
(that was really it.)

I mean... AYE need it. (YOU try and capitalize "I" for emphasis.... well.. okay then!)
For the first time in my entire life, If I were home alone I have realized I would need my house clean for my sanity.
I am 30 1/2 years old and I now need a clean home for my peace of mind and sanity. And it happened just, some week in May once.

Maybe it's just a midlife crisis.

But I'm off to do laundry.

Oh. and I'm starting to cloth diaper my baby. It all started with the documentary "food, Inc." and it just snowballed from there. Plus I really want to save money on top of the whole organic is best attitude I've adopted. (however you won't catch me stuffing those cloth-diapers with anything but in-organic highly-absorbent poly-mixes...)

yeah. it's a mid-life-crisis.
(or 2 years worth of diapers for 350 bucks..) :) or both.

Friday, March 19, 2010

the confessional... it's been a while

Well Glamazon is hosting the confessional and I haven't played in a while.. I had to save up. You know? I needed to find more things to confess. :) So here we go.

1. Have you noticed that my blog has dandruff? yeah I thought that was a nice everyday touch. That's why I can't ever have a black background. The things I suffer from *sigh*.

2. I haven't washed my face with soap in maybe 10 years or more? Soap does not ever touch my face for any reason. I prefer to have lots of skin mites or whatever is keeping my skin so nice. :) I honestly get compliments on it all the time. I never respond "my secret is never, for any reason, let anything touch your face but lotion and kisses." But that's the secret folks. it's out. And since I'm nursing a baby... there are two little places that soap also hasn't touched since I was 4 months prego. Just saying.

3. I have a syndrome of "saying too much." It's a syndrome that I don't just have on my confessional. I have it always. I think people wonder "why does this girl spill ALL THE BEANS all the time about herself??" But I do. What can I say? I like to keep it real. I figure, maybe someone else has the same thoughts/problems/ideas/mistakes that I do and maybe they need a friend. How can I find them if they don't know that I'm crazy too? :) Plus I used to be a pathological liar and so the pendulum has maybe swung a little too far to the right. (see what I mean? saying too much again. :) ) the patho thing ended when I was 18 friends so we're good. (most of us..)

4. I also am one of those annoying people who takes way too long to take a breath while talking. I hate when people do that. It makes me hyperventilate. But a friend about 5 years ago informed me of this annoying human-super-power when I informed her that she was a messy, only-through-the-nose laugher and to please not laugh on my lunch. yuk. I had hurt her feelings a little bit so I explained that when I say something like that- she just needs to respond as honestly as I did. And she hit me with "you never, ever breathe when you talk. You can go on forever. It freaks me out." and I've been traumatized ever since. Mostly because she's right. I can also hold my breath longer than the average joe. (well I could at one time...) so serves me right. :)

5. I have "bumpy dry" skin on the back of my arms. It's not pretty.

then end. :) Link up and play!!! :) It's fun!! :)
Hope you all have a fabulous friday! (all 3 of you.:) )

-Kath

Thursday, March 18, 2010

Killing Time

To all my friends who read this blog (all 3 of you ha!)

I just need a place to vent my anxiety today. :) So here goes.

- I have a very beloved family member who is single, poss expecting a child, and has an insane ex-boyfriend. I am tortured inside right now because of this. I am also tortured because she is so frustrating to talk to. (she likes to make up stories...) ex: hey so what did you do to day? response "ummmm... well..." did you get your _____ done? "yeah! that's what I did." (you could fill in the blank with anything and the response would be the same.

Imagine the frustration of ironing out the wrinkles of an adult situation with an adorable-yet-pathological-story-teller. *shaking off the frustration*

- My house is a disaster. And I have friends/sitters coming over tomorrow due to a PROM-like event with my husbands work. I have to look very nice. I am 8 sizes bigger than anything I wore pre-baby. It's either 8 sizes too small or maternity. :) So I'm putting together a prom-dress on a budget and I look frumpy in it. But not dumpy so that's okay. :)

But on a good note...

-My house is a disaster because of 40.00 worth of shipping/packages sent from my mom of BOOKS FOR MY KIDS. :) I've been having tons of fun with those.

It's so hard to see the people we love have their lives go into upheaval. My angst comes from love. That's why, as it says in the bible, Jesus was a man acquainted with grief. He loves everyone.. so He must feel like this a lot. :) And I don't always tout my religious beliefs, but today it gives me comfort. Thanks for reading.

-Kath

Friday, February 19, 2010

Glamazon's Confessional Friday

Well,
Today I have a true story for you.
I think I'm out of bullets. :)

So.. This is a recent True Story and feel free to judge me all you want! :)

It all started in August of 2006. I was selling security systems for my cousin (WORST JOB EVER never do it) in hopes of making enough money to go to Nottingham England. I didn't go. That's another story for another day though.

Anyway- so I was selling security systems in Dallas Texas... and I was one of 2 girls in the office.
And the guys were sleezy creepy showerless stench-oids. For the most part...
And the 2 that weren't, I tried my hand at dating.
Which led to lots of long, frustrated "getting my head together" drives by myself. :)
Which led to an ALMOST speeding ticket... (on August 18th to be exact) because the nice officer with his Texas charm just gave me a "failure to provide proof of insurance" ticket instead. (since I had the insurance, but not the proof.)

And here's where my story begins.

You see, I moved out of Texas a week later, with no plans of ever returning. And I did what any responsible 26 year old woman would do! I promptly forgot about my ticket. Well, about a year later, I got a notice in the mail from Texas saying I needed to pay my ticket. And again, since I never planned on returning... I ignored it.

I have to say, I had heard somewhere that if I ignored it for five years then it would officially go away.

And since I had heard that while I lived IN TEXAS, from one of the stench-ball boys..
it was probably true and I was going to put my money on it.

So I moved again- to Utah for 4 months and I never got a notice there, which was great because I had other problems. :)
And then I got married, and lived in Ohio again where I got another NOTICE. This time on bright yellow paper, and it had attorney's names and a few threats.
So of course, I figured it can't be a good plan if I don't STICK TO IT. And I ignored it.
I then moved here to North Carolina and I knew FOR CERTAIN there's no way even TEXAS could keep track of me... *evil laugh*
and sure enough, about a week ago I got THE FINAL NOTICE.

*sigh*
It had gone from who knows how much to$580.00 and it wasn't even from the state of Texas anymore. It was from an attorney who worked FOR the state of Texas.
And finally, I decided they officially weren't going away and I FREAKED OUT. (what? You have an extra $580.00 to spare. I don't. Leave me alone. :)

So I knew I needed to own up and turn myself in for my 4 year delinquent "failure to provide proof of INS" ticket. And true to form, I avoided calling the state of TEX for another few days... I was just too sick to my stomache.

And I felt JUST AWEFUL that we'd have to spend THAT MUCH MONEY on something I had been so stupid about.

But I worked up the nerve, and I called Tex and was honest as possible. (So... I just got out of this coma and I noticed I got a ticket just before my accident 4 years ago.....) but really, I fudged a little. I told the lady that I since we were a military family the paperwork must have finally caught up to me.
so I didn't fudge a little- I blatantly lied AND I played my "military spouse" card so that she would imagine my husband deployed and me home alone with the kiddos trying desperately to manage things. (the hubs will probably never deploy.. and if he does... not to anywhere scary.. so Im even more evil for playing the card).

And so even though I partially lied... she still just told me to fax the proof of my ins. and BAM. 6 seconds later I didn't owe a dime and it was the easiest ticket I've ever had in my life!
And I avoided it for 4 years.
Let me just tell you...
I felt like such a total idiot that day.
The end. :)

Someday I'll tell about selling security systems in more detail. and maybe those lame skeez-oid boys, and if you're lucky... the Downfall of my PLANS TO LIVE ABROAD. :) or maybe I should call it "good thing, or you wouldn't be married."

Happy Friday Confessional Day!
Now do one and log it at Glamazon! :)
See you there.

Friday, February 5, 2010

Confessional play along

It's confessional time again with Glamazon

1. I have no idea how to make the button that I'm supposed to make to play along here.
2. The "special K challenge" in order to lose weight backfires on me.
3. I only buy special-k red berries.
4. If I see a red berry in the near future in my box, I keep pouring.
5. This means I end up with a HUGE bowl of cereal.
6. Not "one cup"
7. which is tiny.
8. And I like it so much I usually have seconds.
9. My whining session on my last posted confessional payed off.
10. We got a new car. But it was the minivan instead of the SUV.
11. I was sad about it the entire time we were buying the car.
12. Until we drove off the lot..
13. Then I realized that it was my true-love all along.
14. we are soul mates.
15. Oddly enough- this same scenario played out when I met -> married my husband.
16. I never want what's best for me.
17. It's an anti-power I have.
18. But if someone gives it to me, and I have to have it somehow...
19. I realize that I'd never be happy with anything else.
20. For this reason, I am very frustrating to live with.
21. I hate typing the word "glamazonmormonmom" only because I think it's overt over-use of the right hand.
22. And I always feel a little uncomfortable (hand-wise) doing it. :)
23. But I love glamo and I'd never stop typing her name. I just need to do it more often. (I guess I'll practice.)
24. On that note, I know a few random facts about typing and horns.
15. Typing: the longest word in the English dictionary that can be typed only using the top line is "typewriter."
17. I also feel awkward typing that one.
28. All car horns honk in the note of "F".
29. I know I messed up the numbers there. I think it's bizarre that I randomly picked the numbers that I did. :)
30. I wonder what I'll do next?

Friday, January 22, 2010

the confessional hosted by glamazon

Okay- well I'm continuing the game for as long as Glamazon wants to play! :)
So friday confessional,
again.

1. I am currently very frustrated with my husband's style of being alive. :)
2. I miss having fun.
3. I used to be such a blast.
4. I don't know what happened.
5. It probably all changed once I stopped being snarky and started being nice.
6. My snarkiness never got me anywhere but I think the pendulum has swung too far to the right.
7. Is it bizarre to have a goal this week to be super bratty to someone? (anyone besides my younger sister's boyfriend. I'm already bratty to him.)
8. That's my problem. I think I was only ever really mean to boys.
9. Girls are too mean to mess with. :) They'd tear me up and throw me down.
10. Or is it throw me up and tear me down? haha.
11. I have to buy a car, and per the hubs I've been on the phone non-stop all week getting quotes from every honda dealership in eastern carolina.
12. He is sorry... he thought I was having a really good time. He honestly had no idea that it would annoy me when he said "well, I wasn't really planning on buying one anytime soon."
12.5 He has done this three times now THIS MONTH.
13. this makes me think that being frugal and wise withe money is a stupid. people who do this kind of thing regularly are way too tight-of-wads.
14. they need to let their hair down. throw caution to the wind. And come to think of it, so do I.
15. I'm using my friday confessional to vent a little frustration today.
16. Because I'm too nice lately. So I won't say "peace out homie" and go shopping and get my hair done like I want to.
17. Well, because I'm too nice, but also because my car is broken and I'm trapped at home.
18. But there's always amazon.com. :)
19. I hope everyone else is having more fun with their large purchases. :) or better yet, having no large purchases. :)
20. Happy friday confessional. I know I feel better. :)

Now the game is... go do your own confessional and then log it Here at glamazon with all the rest of us! It will bring your blog lots of visitors. :) And vice-versa.

Thursday, January 21, 2010

Sky Diving and Birthdays

On my 24th birthday I started a personal tradition. I would have to do something I'd never done before each year on my birthday. The first adventure of it's kind. And I went Sky Diving. The tricky part... was convincing all of my very broke, fellow-college-students that also happened to be my dearest friends to come along with me. (I wanted to get the group discount!)

So, after a little convincing, I managed to convince 6 other people to make the leap. We were all eating pb&j for a few months, scraping together enough cash to fly... and enough dough to pay for the gas to get there. (it was all of 35 minutes away..)

And a few days before the big day... I remember we were all together and lots of the OTHER girls were so nervous! They were scared to go, and couldn't believe they were really going to do it. I suppose you could say they were total wuss-es. or pansies of the garden variety.
NOT ME. I wasn't nervous at ALL!! I knew I'd be brave and have fun. And I had absolutely NO QUALMS whatsoever about taking my life into my hands! (The human strapped to my back was my own little insurance policy. I'm sure he wasn't ready to die yet either!)

And so on my birthday we all ditched class and took off for our jump around 1 or 2pm. (It's been 6 years!!)
The ride there was SO GREAT. All the people I loved in my 7 seater car.. and we got there and it was all very mellow and exciting. I remember the plane was very very small- and I sat right up front with the pilot.
And we loaded onto the plane (and barely fit) with one of us sitting directly in front of our insurance policy. (it had two long bench seats...) so me, big burly man, my big burly friend, big burly man. etc. :)

When we started reaching the altitude needed to jump, the awkwardness began.
First.. my burly insurance policy-man told me I needed to sit on his lap. (hey stranger! :) Which I did. Then he proceeded to strap me to him. First our laps were strapped together VERY SNUGLY. (imagine- super-spooning. ) and then his chest to my back.
I became one with the burly-adrenaline junkie in a way I had never imagined before. lol!

Then, the doors opened.
And I saw, in a procession, all of those pansy-wuss-y girlfriends of mine just, DIVE out of the plane with NO HESITATION. Every single one of my friends just, well... jumped. It was almost boring! No tears, no vomit. no nervous looks... seirously! Those girls were PLAYING ME THE WHOLE TIME...
because...

I WAS TERRIFIED!!!!! I needed some reassuring fear from anyone around but I didn't get any. And frankly I didn't deserve any so I had to suck it up. (and I would have, but it was strapped too tightly to big parachute man.)

So, since I went last... I took a minute, listened to the instructions... conquered my sheer terror (well I HAD TO JUMP. I mean... I made everyone else do it.. so...) off I went and from there it was pretty cool.

I screamed as loud as I could and I couldn't hear me at all! :) I'm sure my cheeks and face were flapping and I even forgot about mr. parachute's heartbeat behind me. :)
And we pulled the cord and I got a chance to look around. It was very mellow once the parachute opened...
and then I realized that my shirt was up over my neck. (It took me about 5 minutes to realize that really...) so.. I'm sure mr. Parachute man was a little traumatized by my granny underwear. (note: poor college students don't have hot underclothing. Not on my planet anyway...)

Lastly,
Parachute man asked me if I like spinning. I did! But I also get very motion sick... so I was laughing and HEAVING VERY VERY FORCEFULLY. (which I know he could feel since we were so close I knew where his belly button was!) and I think the thought of me barfing on him convinced him to mellow out.

the land was graceful and eventless.
And I decided that I'd never, ever need to do THAT again. :)
Happy 24th birthday to me!
The year that I discovered that I'm way more of a pansy than I thought I was.

Friday, January 15, 2010

playing along: friday Confessional

Well my dear friend Mel has started something a blog-roll-type of confessional and you need to keep the train going and then link it back to Glamazon! And then do the same for your blog and make sure to visit and log and... well you'll see. :)

So here I go...

Confessions:

1. I no longer care about style. It's all about whether or not it fits.
2. Because of this I wear anything from african mumu's to my husband's tee's and jeans.
3. This is not flattering.
4. I feel very accomplished if I've blown my hair dry.
5. When the baby is napping I take this time to do nothing. When he's awake, I take the time to try and get the house cleaned.
6. This is probably a little backwards and results in my never really getting very much done. :)
7. I have stopped talking to myself and now hold highly-intellectual conversations with my infant.
8. I only do this in public for some reason.
9. It embarrasses me. *snicker* (I love embarrassing people) -even if it's just me since i have very few friends i know well enough to embarrass.
10. I am holding a personal record for having visited mcDonalds AT LEAST once a week for i have no idea how many consecutive weeks.
11. I AM SICK TO DEATH OF MCDONALDS. GROSS. But I still go because it's cheap. *shudder*
12. sometimes I feel too lazy to capitalize my "i's" in case you hadn't already noticed.
13. My husband is a germ-o-phobe. He is the only man alive that washes his hands bEFORE AND AFTER using a public restroom.
14. I love to do secret things to sabatoge his germ-free-ness. I lick the spoon then stir, I eat food once it has been dropped on the floor.. I don't freak out if I went shopping and touched the shopping cart.. and I RARELY wash my hands after shopping etc.
15. It makes me happy to know that I contribute daily to my husbands immune system. :)
16. Bizarrely enough, he knows this about me and still will use my toothbrush in a jam.
17. I don't claim to understand my husband. :)
18. Speaking of which, we both used the same towel for the first 8 months we lived in this home.
19. We were both trying to be nice and take the one farthest from the shower.
20. That's the only time I've managed to be AS GOOD AS my husband, and look where it got us?!
21. On the same note, neither of us noticed because he showers at six AM and I shower at noon.
22. This is my first confessional and I thought it would be hard... but it's pretty easy for me to just ramble nonsensically. :)
23. It's my only X-man power.
24. That and smelling broccoli cooking from a mile away.
25. I'm up there with the nerdy X-man kid who can change the channel when he blinks.
26. And speaking of 14-year-old boy ideas I entertain.....
27. you know the word "embarrassed" that I used a few times up at number 9?
28. Well it made me happy to imagine it as a compound word. :) hee hee.
29. I thought it immediately as I was typing it. :)

I think I was only supposed to do 10. It all happened so fast.... :)

Now, readers, check out Glamazon... where you can find lots more confessionals today. :) And log your own.

Sunday, January 10, 2010

Tiri and the Uta Sisters page 1.

In a small village, in an even smaller country lives a very large girl. She is not large in size. She is actually quite petite with an appetite like a bird. But her largeness is a largeness of spirit and it oppresses her nonetheless. For all intents and purposes, we will call her Tiri.

As a young child, the girl spent much of her free time finding ways to make herself smaller and had an uncanny knack for squeezing herself into impossible places. Tiri would spend countless hours in the small broom closet near her bedroom in order to minimize her presence. She would often sleep under her bed, and could never resist the temptation to climb into her trunk (taking care not to lock herself in of course) on cleaning day.

As Tiri came into her teenage years she became cleverer and more enterprising. For example, it was not unlikely to find her at a sweltering Sunday afternoon service wedged immovably between Uta Fosten and Uta Oder the large Uta sisters who have gained many times over in weight what they might have lacked in hopes for a future husband.

The Uta sisters were the largest and most oppressive personalities that Tiri knew- and it made her feel less large smothered between their broad shoulders. They were also large in heart, and since Tiri was the only person who spent any time with them other than themselves they became very fond of her and that is really where this story begins.

Friday, January 8, 2010

Famous for a day



Southern California is an amazing place. It’s a place where dreams come true, where child actors become alcoholics well before the legal drinking age… and it’s a place where a regular girl can become famous simply by donning a wig and a pair of sunglasses.

A not-so-well-known fact about me is that I love hats. I LOVE THEM. But I rarely wear them… I just love to put them on every now and then to spice things up. I do the same thing with other ornamental dressings such as wigs and scarves … and this is a story about my old friend the white-fro.

I have no idea where I found the WF (for short) or if I even bought it myself. All I know is that I used to own it. It was THE COOLEST WIG EVER. It was a giant ball of tight, Annie-esque curls that encompassed an entire head to the point that one’s face would almost disappear. And it was paper-white. Whiter then the whitest pair of socks. It was impossibly white.

So for fun one evening, as I was going to meet a friend at the Denny’s off of Railroad Canyon in Lake Elsinore, California, I donned my WF wig because I wanted to see how long it would take him to recognize me. I also wore a big pair of sunglasses. And I spent the entire 20 minute drive cracking up at myself. I thought I was hilarious!

And true to Southern California form, upon entering the Denny’s- 4 people who were also entering proceeded to bombard me with Who are you really-s and Just give me your autograph please-s. OF COURSE nobody recognized me, but since I was incognito I was probably a really big name. (It IS Southern California of course..)

I’m sure the waitress was disappointed with her non-movie-star quality tip.