Friday, January 22, 2010

the confessional hosted by glamazon

Okay- well I'm continuing the game for as long as Glamazon wants to play! :)
So friday confessional,
again.

1. I am currently very frustrated with my husband's style of being alive. :)
2. I miss having fun.
3. I used to be such a blast.
4. I don't know what happened.
5. It probably all changed once I stopped being snarky and started being nice.
6. My snarkiness never got me anywhere but I think the pendulum has swung too far to the right.
7. Is it bizarre to have a goal this week to be super bratty to someone? (anyone besides my younger sister's boyfriend. I'm already bratty to him.)
8. That's my problem. I think I was only ever really mean to boys.
9. Girls are too mean to mess with. :) They'd tear me up and throw me down.
10. Or is it throw me up and tear me down? haha.
11. I have to buy a car, and per the hubs I've been on the phone non-stop all week getting quotes from every honda dealership in eastern carolina.
12. He is sorry... he thought I was having a really good time. He honestly had no idea that it would annoy me when he said "well, I wasn't really planning on buying one anytime soon."
12.5 He has done this three times now THIS MONTH.
13. this makes me think that being frugal and wise withe money is a stupid. people who do this kind of thing regularly are way too tight-of-wads.
14. they need to let their hair down. throw caution to the wind. And come to think of it, so do I.
15. I'm using my friday confessional to vent a little frustration today.
16. Because I'm too nice lately. So I won't say "peace out homie" and go shopping and get my hair done like I want to.
17. Well, because I'm too nice, but also because my car is broken and I'm trapped at home.
18. But there's always amazon.com. :)
19. I hope everyone else is having more fun with their large purchases. :) or better yet, having no large purchases. :)
20. Happy friday confessional. I know I feel better. :)

Now the game is... go do your own confessional and then log it Here at glamazon with all the rest of us! It will bring your blog lots of visitors. :) And vice-versa.

Thursday, January 21, 2010

Sky Diving and Birthdays

On my 24th birthday I started a personal tradition. I would have to do something I'd never done before each year on my birthday. The first adventure of it's kind. And I went Sky Diving. The tricky part... was convincing all of my very broke, fellow-college-students that also happened to be my dearest friends to come along with me. (I wanted to get the group discount!)

So, after a little convincing, I managed to convince 6 other people to make the leap. We were all eating pb&j for a few months, scraping together enough cash to fly... and enough dough to pay for the gas to get there. (it was all of 35 minutes away..)

And a few days before the big day... I remember we were all together and lots of the OTHER girls were so nervous! They were scared to go, and couldn't believe they were really going to do it. I suppose you could say they were total wuss-es. or pansies of the garden variety.
NOT ME. I wasn't nervous at ALL!! I knew I'd be brave and have fun. And I had absolutely NO QUALMS whatsoever about taking my life into my hands! (The human strapped to my back was my own little insurance policy. I'm sure he wasn't ready to die yet either!)

And so on my birthday we all ditched class and took off for our jump around 1 or 2pm. (It's been 6 years!!)
The ride there was SO GREAT. All the people I loved in my 7 seater car.. and we got there and it was all very mellow and exciting. I remember the plane was very very small- and I sat right up front with the pilot.
And we loaded onto the plane (and barely fit) with one of us sitting directly in front of our insurance policy. (it had two long bench seats...) so me, big burly man, my big burly friend, big burly man. etc. :)

When we started reaching the altitude needed to jump, the awkwardness began.
First.. my burly insurance policy-man told me I needed to sit on his lap. (hey stranger! :) Which I did. Then he proceeded to strap me to him. First our laps were strapped together VERY SNUGLY. (imagine- super-spooning. ) and then his chest to my back.
I became one with the burly-adrenaline junkie in a way I had never imagined before. lol!

Then, the doors opened.
And I saw, in a procession, all of those pansy-wuss-y girlfriends of mine just, DIVE out of the plane with NO HESITATION. Every single one of my friends just, well... jumped. It was almost boring! No tears, no vomit. no nervous looks... seirously! Those girls were PLAYING ME THE WHOLE TIME...
because...

I WAS TERRIFIED!!!!! I needed some reassuring fear from anyone around but I didn't get any. And frankly I didn't deserve any so I had to suck it up. (and I would have, but it was strapped too tightly to big parachute man.)

So, since I went last... I took a minute, listened to the instructions... conquered my sheer terror (well I HAD TO JUMP. I mean... I made everyone else do it.. so...) off I went and from there it was pretty cool.

I screamed as loud as I could and I couldn't hear me at all! :) I'm sure my cheeks and face were flapping and I even forgot about mr. parachute's heartbeat behind me. :)
And we pulled the cord and I got a chance to look around. It was very mellow once the parachute opened...
and then I realized that my shirt was up over my neck. (It took me about 5 minutes to realize that really...) so.. I'm sure mr. Parachute man was a little traumatized by my granny underwear. (note: poor college students don't have hot underclothing. Not on my planet anyway...)

Lastly,
Parachute man asked me if I like spinning. I did! But I also get very motion sick... so I was laughing and HEAVING VERY VERY FORCEFULLY. (which I know he could feel since we were so close I knew where his belly button was!) and I think the thought of me barfing on him convinced him to mellow out.

the land was graceful and eventless.
And I decided that I'd never, ever need to do THAT again. :)
Happy 24th birthday to me!
The year that I discovered that I'm way more of a pansy than I thought I was.

Friday, January 15, 2010

playing along: friday Confessional

Well my dear friend Mel has started something a blog-roll-type of confessional and you need to keep the train going and then link it back to Glamazon! And then do the same for your blog and make sure to visit and log and... well you'll see. :)

So here I go...

Confessions:

1. I no longer care about style. It's all about whether or not it fits.
2. Because of this I wear anything from african mumu's to my husband's tee's and jeans.
3. This is not flattering.
4. I feel very accomplished if I've blown my hair dry.
5. When the baby is napping I take this time to do nothing. When he's awake, I take the time to try and get the house cleaned.
6. This is probably a little backwards and results in my never really getting very much done. :)
7. I have stopped talking to myself and now hold highly-intellectual conversations with my infant.
8. I only do this in public for some reason.
9. It embarrasses me. *snicker* (I love embarrassing people) -even if it's just me since i have very few friends i know well enough to embarrass.
10. I am holding a personal record for having visited mcDonalds AT LEAST once a week for i have no idea how many consecutive weeks.
11. I AM SICK TO DEATH OF MCDONALDS. GROSS. But I still go because it's cheap. *shudder*
12. sometimes I feel too lazy to capitalize my "i's" in case you hadn't already noticed.
13. My husband is a germ-o-phobe. He is the only man alive that washes his hands bEFORE AND AFTER using a public restroom.
14. I love to do secret things to sabatoge his germ-free-ness. I lick the spoon then stir, I eat food once it has been dropped on the floor.. I don't freak out if I went shopping and touched the shopping cart.. and I RARELY wash my hands after shopping etc.
15. It makes me happy to know that I contribute daily to my husbands immune system. :)
16. Bizarrely enough, he knows this about me and still will use my toothbrush in a jam.
17. I don't claim to understand my husband. :)
18. Speaking of which, we both used the same towel for the first 8 months we lived in this home.
19. We were both trying to be nice and take the one farthest from the shower.
20. That's the only time I've managed to be AS GOOD AS my husband, and look where it got us?!
21. On the same note, neither of us noticed because he showers at six AM and I shower at noon.
22. This is my first confessional and I thought it would be hard... but it's pretty easy for me to just ramble nonsensically. :)
23. It's my only X-man power.
24. That and smelling broccoli cooking from a mile away.
25. I'm up there with the nerdy X-man kid who can change the channel when he blinks.
26. And speaking of 14-year-old boy ideas I entertain.....
27. you know the word "embarrassed" that I used a few times up at number 9?
28. Well it made me happy to imagine it as a compound word. :) hee hee.
29. I thought it immediately as I was typing it. :)

I think I was only supposed to do 10. It all happened so fast.... :)

Now, readers, check out Glamazon... where you can find lots more confessionals today. :) And log your own.

Sunday, January 10, 2010

Tiri and the Uta Sisters page 1.

In a small village, in an even smaller country lives a very large girl. She is not large in size. She is actually quite petite with an appetite like a bird. But her largeness is a largeness of spirit and it oppresses her nonetheless. For all intents and purposes, we will call her Tiri.

As a young child, the girl spent much of her free time finding ways to make herself smaller and had an uncanny knack for squeezing herself into impossible places. Tiri would spend countless hours in the small broom closet near her bedroom in order to minimize her presence. She would often sleep under her bed, and could never resist the temptation to climb into her trunk (taking care not to lock herself in of course) on cleaning day.

As Tiri came into her teenage years she became cleverer and more enterprising. For example, it was not unlikely to find her at a sweltering Sunday afternoon service wedged immovably between Uta Fosten and Uta Oder the large Uta sisters who have gained many times over in weight what they might have lacked in hopes for a future husband.

The Uta sisters were the largest and most oppressive personalities that Tiri knew- and it made her feel less large smothered between their broad shoulders. They were also large in heart, and since Tiri was the only person who spent any time with them other than themselves they became very fond of her and that is really where this story begins.

Friday, January 8, 2010

Famous for a day



Southern California is an amazing place. It’s a place where dreams come true, where child actors become alcoholics well before the legal drinking age… and it’s a place where a regular girl can become famous simply by donning a wig and a pair of sunglasses.

A not-so-well-known fact about me is that I love hats. I LOVE THEM. But I rarely wear them… I just love to put them on every now and then to spice things up. I do the same thing with other ornamental dressings such as wigs and scarves … and this is a story about my old friend the white-fro.

I have no idea where I found the WF (for short) or if I even bought it myself. All I know is that I used to own it. It was THE COOLEST WIG EVER. It was a giant ball of tight, Annie-esque curls that encompassed an entire head to the point that one’s face would almost disappear. And it was paper-white. Whiter then the whitest pair of socks. It was impossibly white.

So for fun one evening, as I was going to meet a friend at the Denny’s off of Railroad Canyon in Lake Elsinore, California, I donned my WF wig because I wanted to see how long it would take him to recognize me. I also wore a big pair of sunglasses. And I spent the entire 20 minute drive cracking up at myself. I thought I was hilarious!

And true to Southern California form, upon entering the Denny’s- 4 people who were also entering proceeded to bombard me with Who are you really-s and Just give me your autograph please-s. OF COURSE nobody recognized me, but since I was incognito I was probably a really big name. (It IS Southern California of course..)

I’m sure the waitress was disappointed with her non-movie-star quality tip.